Government is a Paranoid Cop.

The reason he gave was speeding, but he didn’t cite a number. He didn’t cite a number because he wasn’t behind me long enough to get out a radar and clock me and because I was going 70 miles an hour. 5 miles under the posted speed limit.

I was in Colorado recently. Denver, visiting my friend and recent publisher Dan. It was a good visit. I bought some records, drank some beers, met some nice people. I had great Thai food. It was a relaxing time and much-needed.

The drive between Albuquerque and Denver is long; 6 to 7 hours depending on traffic and desire. Once you leave Pueblo there isn’t a whole lot to break up the expanse of giant mountains and massive fields that fall off the horizon. 25 South is mostly just filled with big rigs hauling stuff. It can be a very isolating experience, especially when you are alone.

I was 33 miles from the border when I came up on the tail end of a state trooper. I was not pleased as I was already averaging 10 miles an hour less than when I drove up. This was going to extend my trip. I decided not to pass him. For 11 miles this was okay.

Suddenly the road opened. All the trucks he was trailing were in the distance. There was no one else on the road except him and I. I was just shy of Trinidad where I knew he would probably turn around. Relief finally came.

Then he did something unexpected. He pulled over into the shoulder. I got in the left lane and proceeded around him returning to the right hand lane. I did not speed up or do anything weird. I was simply following the very basic and well posted highway laws of Colorado. He pulled me over.

The reason he gave was speeding, but he didn’t cite a number. He didn’t cite a number because he wasn’t behind me long enough to get out a radar and clock me and because I was going 70 miles an hour. 5 miles under the posted speed limit. In the 11 miles I was behind him my speed never went over 79 because I am not stupid. I know how to drive. I’ve been doing it for 24 years now.

He continued to question me about this and I denied it out right. I was not combative, but more shocked, which was my natural reaction. He noted my out of date registration and that I didn’t have proof of insurance. He continued to question me about why he stopped me and I reiterated that I was surprised and admitted I was intentionally not passing him. He smiled a lot. He was not mean or aggressive, but he was playing with me. He wanted me to be intimidated by him, but I was just annoyed and in a hurry to leave. I still had another three hours to go.

I wasn’t given a ticket. He let me go on my mary way. Seconds later he did pull over someone else. I made it to the border without a follow-up visit from the cops. I made it home, 7 hours later than when I left Denver, anxious and exhausted. I did not have an explanation as to why I was pulled over. Not an honest one.

This is what our government is. It is a nuisance. It is designed to be a nuisance. It is not meant to serve anything except land and capital. It is not here to protect us or make decisions on behalf of our well-being. Government, and those who run it, those who are attracted to it, those that believe in it, is apathetic to you and to me.

Think of this every time you get mad and indignant and bang your fists, make your phone calls, sign your petitions. These are not the tools that move governors nor those they employ at wages just high enough to keep them comfortable. You’re cries and objections are of no concern to them. Their existence simply impedes on your progress. It is a cop on the highway, paranoid you are watching them, unsure of them selves and bloated. Because of this, they will continue to roll, gain momentum, gain inertia, grow more massively and become more of a roadblock.

Unless and until they are destroyed.