The Art of The Self Portrait. Or, How I Am Going on Hiatus Again This Week. Or, You Probably Think I Love My Self Too Much For Which I Have No Argument Against

If, by any chance you come here often enough to have missed me last week and then suffered through my epic poem about Pygmy Lush and Des Ark, then you are perhaps wondering what is going on here at KYS. And for that I will probably offer you very little in the way of answers that will satisfy. Mostly, I am tired. Both physically and mentally.

Since October I have mostly been updating this blog on a daily basis, offering up show and record reviews and pointing you towards some awesome free music that’s out there on the interwebs for you to download in the event that you aren’t like Justin and able to hack the shit out of life. Frankly, that shit was kind of wearing me out, especially as the list of new releases piled up and didn’t get reviewed.  Doing record reviews kind of sucks when that’s like the main focus of your blog and that was never my intention. It was mostly a way to have some sort of outlet while I was sitting around at my mom’s house. Now that I am not there, I don’t really want to do that.

I’m not going to lie, seeing Des Ark and Pygmy Lush and listening to their new albums kind of fucked me up. They are totally amazing and made me realize, all this diving into shit was seriously depleting the way I listen to and enjoy music. But frankly there hasn’t been much in a long time that has made me go crazy like Old Friends which I have listened to just short of twenty times since Friday. I haven’t even been up that long. Seriously.

Also, I’ve been really lazy. I’m kinda of freaking out that I am not working. Part of why I am freaking out is because I am not doing a lot to get a job. Sometimes this makes me feel awesome, like I am telling the man to fuck off. But I’m also not doing all the things I should be to make money for myself. I need some structure. So I need to reevaluate.

I’m taking the rest of this week off of blogging, and I might not come back with any regularity again for the foreseeable future. I might feel really refreshed and start writing about music again next week. I don’t really know. I just know that Korrupt Yr Self was not really meant for the web. So I’ve started on Issue #6 too. I have two pieces written already. One of them is about music actually. I contemplated putting the last epic head puke in my zine, but something about that felt like it needed to be immediate and available to a wider audience.

Also, I am doing a reading in Albuquerque, NM at a Zine show. It’s April 7th, 2011 at Cellar Door Gifts and Gallery. More information can be found by clicking here or by looking at the flier that’s like right next to all this text  you are consuming. I’ve wanted to do a zine reading since I started this. I’m not going to lie, I wish I was well read enough to do a modest sized tour like my hero, Al Burian. But he’s a better writer and zine maker than I am and he’s been in the game a lot longer than I have. Never the less, it’s something I am exploring doing. So if you live anywhere on the west coast and want to help me out with a show, a meal and a place to sleep and probably a ride to and from a Greyhound station that would be super awesome of you. If you live in Albuquerque you should come to this event. I’ll be the guy that looks like the guy up and to the left.

So that’s the long and short of it all. I’m trying to take more photos but the only other subject besides bands that I seem to like to take is photos of me. That photos is of me after getting back from Phoenix. I was totally angry and sleep deprived and I wanted to sleep so bad but there was so much light outside. It totally sucked. Also, I’ve been listening to They Might Be Giants for the last hour or so. Man, they are a great band that I don’t listen to nearly enough. Anyway, thanks for hanging out.

Leave a Reply

