KYS Zine – The Reason You Are Here – Issue #5 Out Now

Hey kids, I know things at KYS have been pretty fucking weird lately. The Podcasts are kind of not in existence at the moment and probably won’t be for a while. A great deal of writing has been hashed up and I’m pretty psyched about that. I am hoping to get a bunch of posts up through October and even crank out enough content to make November worthwhile (more on that in a minute) so you know, I am glad you have all come by. I think there are even some new readers and stuff which is rad. I’d love to hear from you, so leave a comment or send me an email or something.

The best news is that Issue #5 is done. I worked on this simultaneously to Issue #4 (which is still available) so it came out fairly quickly. This will be the last issue for a long time (just one second, be patient) and I am really proud of it. I sent copies to Razorcake for review so hopefully they will write about it soon. I also sent Issue#4 and #5 to Microcosom to consider for distribution. You can pick it up in Smash! if you live in DC for free or you can email me at goodgovernor(at)yahoo.com with an address and I will send them out. I’m really proud of this issue. The cover was done by my friend Alex Munoz, I did a lot of proof reading, got two great interviews and did some new stuff I wanted to try with the layout. I am looking into ePublishing as well, so if you have an eReader a PDF of this will be hosted shortly for download. If you do a distro, are in a band or just want your friends to read them, get in touch and I will send you a stack.

So, in November I am moving to Albuquerque, New Mexico. I have lived in Virginia for 20 years and it is now time for me to venture out elsewhere. I am excited, scared, a little bit sad and anxious to go on this adventure. It’s a bit strange to think in less than 30 days I will in another state, so different from the one I know and love, totally on my own, far from my parents, far from loved ones and in a more secluded, smaller city. I don’t have much plans at the moment, nor a job in the future, so you know, send me iTunes gift cards, records, tapes, mp3’s and other stuff.

So with that, November will be pretty sparse in terms of updates. I want to crank out some more rants and stuff if I can. I have ideas for issue #6 and when I get settled, I will be busting out my recording equipment and making better podcasts. I’m also going to be doing some more hand-made, limited edition zines too when I get settled. I don’t know what the punk/indie scene is like in the ABQ (if you know anyone that lives there, please get them in touch with me) but it’s going to be exciting.

Thanks again for reading, I totally appreciate it. It might get a little boring around here for awhile, but I promise it will get just as radical once again. Take care.

Leave a Reply

