Hiatus

Korrupt Yr Self the blog and podcast are going on a much needed hiatus. There are two more podcasts in the wings and will (should?) auto post over the next two weeks. After that, I am taking a much deserved break from podcasting and record review writing and other such things. I do not have an anticipated time of when I will return to these things. It may be three months, it may be a year. So, you know, sign up for updates and shit and you will know as soon as I do.

Issue #4 of the zine remains abundantly available. If you want one, write me an email at goodgovernor @ gmail.com and I will happily send you one for free. I will still have email.

If you get updates from this cuz yr my facebook friend, in 60 days you won’t be able to. Facebook page is going bye bye. the Twitter account will remain.

Finally, before I go, I want to talk about Plan-It-X records, a label I have talked about quite a bit in the past. Chris Johnson, one of the founders and long time operator of the label has been one of my biggest inspirations over the past year of my life. In June of 2009, Chris moved to Cairo, IL, a small town at the mouth of the Mississippi and Ohio rivers, has a population of less than 4,000 people and has a depressed economy. Chris bought a building, renovated it and tried to open a community space and coffee shop. His dream was that he could get all the punks and weirdos and people who just don’t want to be a part of society to move there and start their own thing.

Recently, Chris and his other small band of merry friends decided to hang it up. He writes about it at his website Plan-It-X.com. To many, this might read like Chris failed. And measured in terms of everyday, capitalistic, money hungry, consuming bullshit, it is. But that was not what Chris wanted to do. And even though it is time for him to leave and return to Bloomington, IN and resume doing some of things he loved doing, and start doing new and exciting things he’s always wanted to do, I think of Ace of Cups and a success. Chris took a chance on a dream and put his life into that dream. He did it at great financial cost (something that weighs way too heavily on almost every American, whether we want to believe we live in such a stable economy or not) to himself, and sacrifice of many other aspects of his life. But the point is, Chris took a chance. Most people don’t dare do that in life. Like me, they get out of college, find some job that pays okay, get married, have kids, buy a house, grow varicose veins and fucking die never having the gumption to dream, to live, to grab life by the balls and say FUCK YOU, I DO IT MY WAY.

Over the last few years of my life, I’ve learned that trying to smash my life into this mold of consumerist comfort doesn’t work for me. There isn’t any thing at my fingertips that makes me a better person. There is no adventure, no excitement, no risk and no daring. Today I made a decision that, financially, was very difficult. But it’s time to turn these cards in and cash out. It’s not what I hoped for, but I will make it work somehow. There is a great deal of liberation, and the stress and tension is quickly fading away. It might turn out okay. Maybe not as I planned, but it might turn out okay.

I know I have urged you a thousand times to go visit Plan-It-X.Com. But I mean it. Go there now, listen to some of the music, find something you like, sit down, write Chris a letter and send him $5 for a CD. It won’t be around forever and you will be missing out on something very, very beautiful. Something that is quickly dying in our culture. Not the exchange of commerce for goods, but the investment in something beautiful, loving and wonderful.

Quit your job, burn down your house, throw a brick at a banker (myself included), and go on an adventure. You are never too old for that.

Peace from all of us at the Korrupt Your Self Corporation for World Domination, LLC, INC.

“What the fuck, fuck shit up” – Chuck Dukowski

Leave a Reply

