Kelly Clarkson – My Life Would Suck Without You

Kelly Clarkson
“My Life Would Suck Without You”
from the forthcoming album All I Ever Wanted
RCA

Alright, I’m not going to lie. When it comes to ladies that sing poppy syrup crap, I have a weakness. So when a windfall of funds were generated through the saving of coins, I decided to buy some iTunes. I’ve know this single had been out for a while, but I wasn’t going to buy it. But as it stands, I had a dollar left after the purchases I made (which by the way Young Widows Old Wounds is some fantastic Shellac inspired sludgey rock – but we will get to that later) so I downloaded the current number one hit.

So my first impression of the song after one listen through, it’s nothing like the songs from My December, Clarkson’s personal artistic statement, and perhaps one of so few in pop music these days. The track was written by the guys that wrote her hit “Since You’ve Been Gone” which as Ted Leo shows is a great, hooky song. But this just falls flat to me. It’s a tired road without the panache of their former collaboration and it lacks the guts and edge that made the songs on My December so distinctive. She doesn’t even sounds like she means anything she’s saying. I believed her on the songs in My December. She was an angry lady on that album, and the venom and emotion existed. Based on this performance I get the feeling her life would be perfectly fine without the object of her affection. That isn’t boding well form who ever she might be sweet on these days.

Is this where I get off the Clarkson bandwagon? Probably. Frankly, it seems she’s caving to the pressures of her record label by putting out sugar rock teeny bopper hits instead of carving out a career in music. I mean the industry will never learn sure, but I had hoped that the American Idol would use her stardom leverage to make the kind of records that actually mean something to her. But this is the same bread and butter crap she was doing 5 years ago, and not nearly as anthmatic.

Sorry Kelly, but I think my love affair is over. I hope to see you take the lead shown to you by Reba McEntire and you make a classy country album one day. Or blow me away with some soulful ballads. But yr beyond this music. And frankly, so am I.

Leave a Reply

